Finish Vertical

Today was another fabulous day.  I got something I always wanted, my whole family in their running shoes.

 

This morning we started out with our Kick-off for our upcoming Team in Training season.  Sam actually got to take part as a participant.  Of course I was bubbling with pride that my running finally rubbed off on him.  Below is a picture of my new team minus a few people.

 

But the absolute most awesome part of the day was that my three kids all participated in a road race.  Gwyneth did the kids race with her buddy Gavin.  And believe it or not they both took second place.  She got it for the girls and he got it for the boys. 

                          

                   

Cinnone and Gethin participated in their first 5K.  Cinnone ran with my friend Tina and Gethin ran with me.  He took off.  He ran the entire first mile and did it in 11 minutes.  Then he slowed a bit and completed his race in 40 minutes.  The funniest part was when he ran by me saying, “I do not feel the pain in my legs.”  Cinnone finished her race in 50 minutes.  Both times are amazing for their first 5K’s.  As a mom I am so proud of them. 

                          

As Gethin and I were approaching the finish line we ran past a man that was 81 years old.  He cheered Gethin on and said how proud he was that such a young man was running and then he said , “The most important thing is that you finish the race vertical.”  So that is the advice of the day…finish vertical.

5 responses

  1. Jen,
    Your account of the race today just about made my heart burst! Our love to your entire family! Does training mean you can’t eat at Truffe in November??? 🙂

  2. Jen,
    I am so proud of all of you and what you are all doing, I wish I was able to run and raise funds in that way but I am thinking of ways to raise funds this end. As soon as I have finalised the idea I will let you know.
    Love you all

  3. Jen,

    How wonderful to have your whole family out there. I LOVE it!!
    To “Finish veritcal” was my goal during the Princess and if I hadn’t had Doug there, there was no way I would have finished. He truly was my support.
    Thank for all you do with Team N Training.
    Love, Nancy

  4. Pingback: Still Vertical « Miles For A Cure

Leave a reply I would love to hear form you.

