Impossible

I have been trying to write this blog for some time now.  I think I was trying too go to deep with it.  Since my Dad passed away I have a few songs that I like to listen to and one of them is by Kutless called “What faith can do.”  In this song there is a specific phrase that caught my attention, “Impossible is not a word. It’s just a reason for someone not to try.”

I hear all the time, “I am not a runner,” “I am not built to run,” or “I just can’t do it.”  The best advice ever given to me was, “When you decide you can run, you will be able to run.”  It is our nature to make excuses, giving ourselves reasons we do not need to run or exercise or eat more nutritiously, or whatever it is that we may want to succeed in.

When you make up your mind that you can do something, you will be able to achieve it.  One of the reasons I absolutely love the marathon is watching people cross the finish line.  With each foot that steps over the finish line you witness a lifetime goal that has been accomplished.

Midway through every season of training it just gets hard.   You begin to lack motivation.  This is the point I send my team what I call the “Kick in the butt” email.  In this email I remind them what this is all about, to remember the original intention for starting.

My last long run, it was hot and I was miserable, the last thing I wanted to do was run.  But then I thought about my Dad and all he went through in his last six months.  No amount of aches or pains from running could ever compare to his battle.  So as I ran I imagined the millions of others still fighting there battle with cancer and imagined carrying them with me across the finish line.

Take the step to make a change in your life or someone else’s.  Impossible, a word so overused by many who want to achieved something but sell themselves short.  Excuses are a cover up to what we are of afraid of trying in fear that we might fail.  Conquer your goals!

 

(the phrase quoted is in the 2nd verse)

I would love to hear back from you on your goals you are achieving.

4 responses

  1. what a wonderful blog! you are so inspirational! I have been trying to get fit & healthier by working out more & making healthier decisions. I still have over 100 pounds to lose, according to the charts, but am down 26 pounds & 14 inches so far…I would like ot come run with you guys when I am ready…you are a terrific motivator! ~Polly

    • Thank you Polly. I would love to have you at training, but unfortunatly I can only have Team In Training (TNT) participants with me. However, I am hoping to put together a First Pres TNT team. If this happens I would love to have you on the team. Let me know any way that I can help you lose to your goal weight. I know you can do it.

  2. I’m training for the Women’s Half in St. Pete. And I’m thrilled my 60 year old mom has taken inspiration from me and is training to run it with me! She had a good friend loose a battle with lymphoma in 2009 (one of the reasons I signed up with TNT), and I think it’s fantastic that she’s starting to get healthier. Sadly, we’re in different states, so we can’t train together, but I’m so proud of her. And myself, truth be told, as I have such a hard time staying motivated when not training with TNT.

Leave a reply I would love to hear form you.

