The China Study


The reason I chose to become Vegan was to eliminate all the foods that were inundated with preservatives, hormones, chemicals and so much more.  I watched my Dad die of an extremely rare blood disease with no known origin. There could be a multitude of causes; the environment, food or even genetics. I felt that I needed to do whatever I could to protect myself from this disease or a plethora of other cancers and diseases that attack us.

I have read many books on veganism and most are from those who are on the animal protection side.  I will say my eyes have been opened wide to what we as a nation turn a blind eye to when it comes to how we get our food.

Recently, I read a book that totally backed my reasons for becoming vegan.  The book, “The China Study,” written by T. Colin Campbell, Ph.D. and Thomas M Campbell II is one of the best, most informative books I have ever read.

The first part of the book is about the China Study.  In brief, it is a study that looks at the different diets of the Chinese population (almost completely plant based) to the American diet (almost all animal based).  The comparisons are unbelievable.  There is a lot of other research mentioned from various countries around the world.  If you like statistics and science research or nutrition you will absolutely be absorbed by this part of the book.

The next part of the book goes into the “Diseases of Affluence” such as diabetes, cancer and heart disease and how so many of these diseases are caused simply by what we put in our mouth on a daily basis.

The latter part of the book goes into governmental control over our food.  It will really make you wonder how free we really are in our free country.

I encourage you to read this book.  The research is so eye opening.  My hope for you would be that you take a more serious look into what you put into your body and the long term effects it will have on you.

For more information on the China Study you can go to there website http://www.thechinastudy.com/

Leave a reply I would love to hear form you.

