Meeting Gene Bauer

As many of you know I have been fundraising for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society for the past 4 years.  It is such a great cause, but after raising $30,000 for them I decided to make a slight change.  In one of my past blogs “A Little More Vegan,” https://milesforacure.wordpress.com/2011/07/18/a-little-more-vegan/  I mentioned how much I was touched by the book “Farm Sanctuary.”

In response to my convictions I felt the need to change my fundraising a little and fund raise for Farm Sanctuary.  Farm Sanctuary rescues farm animals from dire situations on farms and those to ill to be slaughtered.  They also rescue animals that are victims of natural disasters and they also advocate on behalf of animals.  So three of us have decided to run an Ultra Marathon in effort to raise money for this non-profit organization.

A few weekends ago we had the privilege to have a girls weekend away and meet the amazing man that started Farm Sanctuary, Gene Bauer.  We traveled down to Fort Lauderdale  to a wonderful vegan restaurant, Sublime, and got to be apart of Farm Sanctuary’s 25th Anniversary.  Not only did we get to meet Gene Bauer, but we also got to meet several of the people who have made huge steps in Florida to decrease the abuse in factory farming.

I know this is very different than my usual fundraising efforts, but I really want to challenge you all to understand where your food is coming from.  It is so easy to keep a blind eye.  I would love for you to read the book “Farm Sanctuary” and find out for yourself what goes on so close to us.

If you feel led, I would love for you to help us meet our fundraising goal of $3800.  To do so you can make an online donation to either link below.  If you would like to pay by a check reply in the comments and I can get you the address to send it to.  All donations are 100% tax deductible.

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/milesforacure/tallahasseeultramarathon

or

http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/taylor-mace/tallahasseeultra

Thank you to those of you who have always supported my fundraising endeavors.

Leave a reply I would love to hear form you.

