A Runners Christmas List

Every year I am asked by several people what to get the runner in their life.  So this year I am going to be a step ahead of you and make the list before you ask.  Here are some of my favorite all time, must need running gadgets, clothing and accessories.

 

#1 Road ID

This is one of the best products for safety reasons.  It has emergency contact info as well as important medical info.  You can also get fun sayings added to the bottom.  These are great if for some reason something happened while you were exercising and could not give your information.  These are also great to get for your kids so if there were an emergency while they are out riding bikes or playing at a park.

www.RoadID.com

 

#2 Fuel Belt

This is a product I could not run without.  The belt is a lifesaver for carrying you water and sports drinks.  I hate to carry a water bottle so this has been a perfect solution.

www.fuelbelt.com

 

 

 

#3 Camelbak

For those of you that know distance runners this is a great product.  I love this pack because they can carry up to 100 oz. of water depending on which size you purchase.  This is very helpful on hot summer days to not have to stop and refill.  It also help to keep the water cool.

www.camelbak.com

 

#4 Socks

Socks make for a great stocking stuffer.  Many runners are very specific as to which sock they like so you may want to find out.  But if you know someone that is new to running trying different brands is a great way to see what works.  Plus I have learned you can never have too many pair.  Do Not go out and get regular socks made of cotton.  Runners and walkers need to have socks made for the sport.  My favorite brand is feetures.

Feetures can be found on various running sites.  I have purchased mine from Amazon and my local running store.  They can also be purchased on zappos.

 

#5  P90X

P90X has been excellent for my cross training.  It helps to add strength and endurance.  I found that it helped my core tremendously which in turn helps your posture when running.  In distance running a good posture can make or break a run.

www.beachbodycoach.com/milesforacure

 

#6 MotoActv

I use to own a garmin and I would still highly recommend the garmin brand, but I have fallen in love with my MotoActv.  This is a watch that measures your distance, speed, calories and maps your run.  It is also a MP3 player and will decide what music makes you run faster.  Their are too many features to list.  It is awesome and easy to use.

www.motoactv.com

 

#7 Running Gloves

In the south I do not need these as often but when I do need them I am so glad to have them.  My favorite are the Brooks running gloves. These are actually gloves that have a cover on the thumb you can pull back so you can work your phone etc.  They also have the yellow “wind breaker” cover that pulls over.

www.brooksrunning.com

 

#8 Running Jacket

This is also a Brooks product.  This is an extrememly light weigh jacket that can keep you warm.  It is amazing that something so thin can help so much.  It is bright yellow for safety reasons, it helps to keep light rain off you and the wind.  Best off all is that when you get hot this jacket folds up into itself and zips shut smaller than a wallet so it is easy to still carry while running.

www.brooksrunning.com

 

#9 Shakeology

This is such a great product for fuel.  I have a shake before I go on my run for breakfast since it is not too heavy.  I will also use it as an after run recovery drink.  Shakeology contains over 70 ingredients including many superfoods.

www.myshakeology.com/milesforacure

 

#10 Compression Sock

These are fantastic for recovery.  I will also where them at times while I run.  These are getting very popular and come in a variety of colors and designs.  Hint Hint to whoever might be purchasing my Christmas gifts.  I really like the ones in the picture.

To find these just google “running compression socks” and you will find a huge variety.

 

 

2 responses

Leave a reply I would love to hear form you.

