Weight Loss Struggles – Stress!

I have heard from so many of you lately and I am finding it to be an issue for myself too.  Stress!

stress-300x199

What makes us stress eat?  What makes us find comfort in food? I know it has to do with the chemical balance in our brain and how certain foods trigger pleasure sensors that produce different sensations.  That is the extent of what I know on the subject except that this is just a short term fix.

I have found for myself, that I crave my comfort foods and sugary foods.  I love Mexican food and could eat it daily.  It is my comfort food, and yes you can eat vegan at a Mexican restaurant.  Again, this is just a quick fix.  I enjoy it while I am eating but then I leave feeling overly full and bloated for the next day or so.

Sugar is something I try to keep out of my house because I know I won’t be able to hide it from myself and it makes me feel even worse.

dont-get-stressed-get-dessert-uploaded-to-flickr-public-files-by-ichabodhides

What are your comfort foods? Comment below I want to hear from you.

For others stress often puts us in a place of not being in control.  There is an outside factor causing the stress.  So they do something they can control and that is eating.  In my opinion, just the way someone who has an eating disorder such as anorexia believes to be in control of their body I think others do the same on the opposite spectrum.

So what can we do?  I wish I could say that this was going to be easy.  If it were I would not be writing this post. Cravings are usually disguised addictions.

First, get all trigger foods out of your house.  Do not have anything that will cause you to overeat, sneak just one or encourage a midnight feast.

Second, keep a journal.  When you feel the urge to eat something you know you should not write out what you are feeling.  Are you anxious, overwhelmed or sad.  Write it out and see what emotion seems to be the biggest trigger and what food you are wanting.  Then find other ways to deal with that emotion.  Sometimes if you continue to write that will help or go for a walk or talk to a friend.  Try to find something that will bring you relaxation other than the temporary food fix.

Lastly, try to eliminate the stress.  I recently read a book that said to look at your daily to do list and see what are you doing that is benefitting you the most and what are you doing that is really just wasting time.  He said 80% of what you do is really not useful.  So find the 20%, get rid of the 80% and be more successful at what you do.  I do realize that some stress cannot be removed.  What our family is going through is nothing we can control, but I have eliminated other things that would intensify the stress.  I workout and try to laugh, both are great stress relievers.

I really hope this helps and I would love to hear your comments of things that have helped you overcome stress eating.  I would also like to hear other areas of struggle so I can address those.

Keep moving forward.

Jen

 

Leave a reply I would love to hear form you.

